Lawyers Committee


The Lawyers Committee of the National Center for State Courts provides an opportunity for the leaders of the nation’s preeminent law firms to partner with the NCSC in building public understanding of the need for a strong and independent judiciary. Members participate in dialogues with state chief justices and state court leaders on judicial reform issues, and provide valuable input on NCSC activities in a range of areas from jury reform to judicial independence.



  • Serve as advocates for the fair and timely resolution of disputes through stable, effective, and efficient state courts.
  • Collaborate with state chief justices and corporate general counsel to debate issues and recommend solution.
  • Promote the rule of law and champion the importance of good government.

Members of the Lawyers Committee make a leadership annual contribution to NCSC. The generosity and valuable participation of the Lawyers Committee members is deeply appreciated by the leadership of the National Center for State Courts.  To learn how your firm can become a member, please email Francie Teer or call her at (757) 259-1858. 

Leadership and Service

Chairs of the Lawyers Committee are selected from among the current membership for three year terms.  The committee is currently co-chaired by C. Mitchell Brown of Nelson Mullins and Kathleen Flynn Peterson of Robins Kaplan.  The Membership Co-Chairs are Robert Maloney of Lane Powell and Edward W. Mullins, Jr. of Nelson Mullins (Ret.)  

The Committee meets annually in Washington, D.C. as part of a suite of events including the William H. Rehnquist Award Reception & Dinner at the U.S. Supreme Court.  The Judicial Excellence Events are scheduled for November 15 & 16, 2018.

Member Firms

Michael F. Kinney 
Cassem Tierney Adams Gotch & Douglas
James B. Kobak Jr.
Hughes Hubbard & Reed

    Allen Allen Allen & Allen

    Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer

    Baker Botts

    Barnes & Thornburg

    Baron & Blue

    Baron & Budd

    Barrett & Gilman

    Beck Redden

    Bekman, Marder & Adkins

    Briggs & Morgan

    Bryan Cave

    Bundy McDonald 

    Butler Snow

    Campbell Campbell Edwards & Conroy

    Cannon & Dunphy

    Carlton Fields Jorden Burt

    Cassem Tierney Adams Gotch & Douglas

    Center for Constitutional Litigation

    Christensen Law

    Christian & Barton

    Colson Hicks Eidson

    Comerford & Britt

    Cravath Swaine & Moore

    Dalton & Associates

    Doffermyre Shields Canfield & Knowles

    Esdaile Barrett Jacobs & Mone

    Gallivan White & Boyd

    Gentry Locke Rakes & Moore

    Gibbs Law Group

    Gibson Dunn & Crutcher

    Goodwin Proctor

    Gordon Tilden Thomas Cordell

    Gray Ritter & Graham

    Greenberg Traurig

    Hansen McClintock & Riley

    Hare Wynn Newell & Newton

    Hite Fanning & Honeyman

    Hood Law Firm

    Hughes Hubbard & Reed 

    Hunton & Williams

    Ice Miller

    Janet Jenner & Suggs

    Johnson & Bell

    Jones Walker

    Kelley Drye & Warren

    King & Spalding

    Kirkland & Ellis

    Koskoff Koskoff & Bieder

    Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel

    Kramer Sopko & Levenstein

    Lane Powell

    Leader & Berkon

    Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein

    Lightfoot Franklin & White

    Mandell Schwartz & Boisclair

    McCarter & English

    McDermott & McDermott


    McLane Middleton

    McNicholas & McNicholas

    Meyers & Flowers

    Michael Maguire & Associates

    Miller Canfield Paddock & Stone


    Morgan Lewis & Bockius

    Morrison Mahoney

    Munger Tolles & Olson

    Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough

    Nexsen Pruet

    Noteboom - The Law Firm

    Ogletree Deakins

    Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe

    Osborn Maledon

    Paul Hastings

    Pepper Hamilton

    Pierce Atwood

    Potter Anderson & Corroon

    Power Rogers & Smith

    Quarles & Brady

    Reed Smith

    Robins Kaplan

    Robinson & Cole

    Robinson Calcagnie Robinson Shapiro Davis

    Rumberger Kirk & Caldwell

    Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley

    Shook Hardy & Bacon

    Sidley Austin

    Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom

    Spagenberg Shipley & Liber

    Squire Patton Boggs

    Stoel Rives

    Sullivan & Cromwell

    The Law Office of Robert H. Alexander, Jr.

    Thompson & Knight


    Wachtell Lipton Rosen & Katz

    Walkup Melodia Kelly & Schoenberger

    Wheeler Trigg O'Donnell

    Wicker Smith O'Hara McCoy & Ford

    Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

    Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice

    Wright Lindsey & Jennings