ICM Fellow Star Award



View the papers


Mark Van Bever
Trial Court Administrator
Eighteenth Judicial Circuit
Brevard and Seminole Counties, Florida

Each year, the Star Award is conferred on an ICM Fellow who demonstrates excellence in the advancement of court administration through leadership and education.  The Institute for Court Management accepts nominations for the Star Award from ICM Fellows. The Award winner is announced at a Fellows reception typically held at the annual conference of the National Association for Court Management.  The recipient of the 2015 Star Award is Mark Van Bever from Florida.

Mark is the Trial Court Administrator for the Eighteenth Judicial Circuit in Florida.  He worded in the private sector until 1989, before joining local government and then the courts.  Mark has a longstanding commitment to education in the courts. Mark has served on the Florida Court Administrator Education Committee and the Florida Trial Court Budget Commission and is a member of the ICM Board of Advisors.  He has been an educator at the university level and for the courts since 1977.  He has consulted or taught for the Florida Institute of Technology, Michigan State University, the National Association for Court Management, the National Center for State Courts, the Federal Immigration Courts, the U.S. Department of Justice, and the courts of Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Texas, Virginia, and Washington. Mark holds an MBA from the Florida Institute of Technology.  He is a graduate of the University of South Carolina, with majors in management and finance.  Mark is a 1997 Fellow of the Institute for Court Management.

Congratulations to Mr. Mark Van Bever, ICM’s winner of the 2015 Star Award.

“I am immensely grateful to the Institute for Court Management for providing to me valuable education, designation as a Fellow, an opportunity to train others, and the privilege of serving on the Board of Advisors.  It is an honor to receive the 2015 ICM Star Award.”


Previous Star Award Winners

2014 Jude Del Preore
2013 Kevin J. Bowling
2012 Howard H. Berchtold, Jr.
2011 Patricia Duggan
2010 Don Jacobson
2009 Bob Zastany
2008 Chris Crawford
2007 Collins E. Ijoma
2006 Pamela Ryder-Lahey
2005 D. J. Hanson
2004 Sue Dosal and Gordy Griller
2003 Donald Cullen
2002 Janet G. Cornell
2001 Carl Baar and Geoff Gallas
2000 Mary M. Brittain
1999 Daniel H. Straub