Lawyers Committee

The Lawyers Committee of the National Center for State Courts provides an opportunity for the leaders of the nation’s preeminent law firms to partner with the NCSC in building public understanding of the need for a strong and independent judiciary.

As officers of the court, lawyers have a special commitment to help improve the performance of the state courts for the benefit of their clients and the public. Membership in the Lawyers Committee is one important way to further this goal. Members of the NCSC’s Lawyers Committee participate in dialogues with state court leaders on judicial reform issues, and provide valuable input on NCSC activities in such areas as electronic discovery, the vanishing trial, and management of complex civil cases.

The National Center for State Courts deeply appreciates all of the members of Lawyers Committee for their generosity and valuable participation. To learn how your firm can participate, please email Katherine Dabney or call her at (757) 259-1527.

View more videos about the NCSC Lawyers Committee here.


Lawyers Committee Brochure (pdf)

Lawyers Committee Organization

Committee members participate actively in the development and implementation of the National Center’s programs and initiatives and provide advice and guidance to ensure that the Center’s work remains relevant and timely.

Chairs of the Lawyers Committee are selected from among the current membership. The committee is currently co-chaired by John H. Martin, Thompson & Knight and Robert S. Peck, Center for Constitutional Litigation PC.

The Lawyers Committee holds an annual meeting each fall in Washington, D.C. Members are also invited to attend the annual Justice Roundtable event, which brings together state chief justices, members of the NCSC Board of Directors, and the General Counsel and Lawyers Committees to discuss issues of common concern to business and court communities. The Judicial Excellence Events will be held on November 20-21, 2014, in Washington, D.C.

Members of the Lawyers Committee make a leadership annual contribution to the National Center.

Participating firms are also eligible to designate an attorney to participate in the Young Lawyers Committee.


Lawyers Committee Membership
*denotes 20-year contributors
John H. Martin
Thompson & Knight

Robert S. Peck
Center for Constitutional Litigation

Stewart D. Aaron
Arnold & Porter

Edward W. Madeira Jr. 
Pepper Hamilton
Robert H. Alexander Jr.
The Law Office of Robert H. Alexander Jr.

Robert E. Maloney Jr. 
Lane Powell
Curtis H. Barnette
Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom* (Retired)
Alan E. Mansfield
Greenberg Traurig
G. Michael Barnhill
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice

L. Gino Marchetti Jr.
Taylor Pigue Marchetti & Mink
Paul A. Barrett
Barrett & Gilman

Joseph R. Marconi
Johnson & Bell
Martine M. Beamon
Davis Polk & Wardwell

James C. Martin
Reed Smith
David J. Beck
Beck Redden

John H. Martin
Thompson & Knight
Mark A. Behrens
Shook Hardy & Bacon

Mary Massaron Ross
Plunkett Cooney
Paul D. Bekman
Salisbury Clements Bekman Marder & Adkin

Wendy D. May
Hartline Dacus Barger Dreyer
Sheila L. Birnbaum 
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan

Michael X. McBride
Connell Foley
Rolin P. Bissell 
Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor

James B. McMath
McMath Woods
C. Mitchell Brown 
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough

Manuel A. Medrano
Medrano & Carlton
David L. Brown
Hansen McClintock & Riley

Donna D. Melby 
Paul Hastings
Russell Budd
Baron & Budd

Jack B. Middleton 
McLane Graf Raulerson & Middleton
Colin F. Campbell
Osborn Maledon

Honorable E. Leo Milonas 
Pillsbury Winthrop
James M. Campbell
Campbell Campbell Edwards & Conroy

Monica T. Monday
Gentry Locke Rakes & Moore
Jan M. Carroll 
Barnes & Thornburg

Michael Mone Sr.
Esdaile Barrett Jacobs & Mone
Otis W. Carroll 
Ireland, Carroll & Kelley

Edward W. Mullins Jr. 
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough
Honorable John H. Cayce Jr. 
Kelly Hart & Hallman

Gary P. Naftalis
Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frakel
David E. Christensen
Christensen Law

Charles M. Noteboom 
Noteboom, The Law Firm
Richard W. Clary 
Cravath Swaine & Moore*

Gareth W. Notis 
Morrison Mahoney
Curt W. Clausen
Stark, Williamson & Clausen

Thomas C. O'Brien 
Miller Canfield
Anne E. Cohen 
Debevoise & Plimpton

Ronald L. Olson 
Munger Tolles & Olson
Michael A. Cooper 
Sullivan & Cromwell

Theodore B. Olson 
Gibson Dunn
Molly H. Craig 
Hood Law Firm

Bruce R. Parker 
Gary T. Culbreath
Gallivan White & Boyd

Robert S. Peck
Center for Constitutional Litigation
Sally R. Culley 
Rumberger Kirk & Caldwell

Kathleen F. Peterson
Robins Kaplan Miller & Ciresi
Mark A. Cunningham 
Jones Walker

John "Jack" C. Phillips
Phillips Goldman & Spence
John J. Curtin Jr. 
Bingham McCutchen

Alan I. Raylesberg
Chadbourne & Parke
Thomas H. Dahlk 
Kutak Rock

Harry M. Reasoner
Vinson & Elkins
Frank J. Daily 
Quarles & Brady

B. Wilson Redfearn
Tybout Redfearn & Pell
Stephen C. Dillard 
Fulbright & Jaworski

Phillip E. Reeves
Gallivan White & Boyd
Allyson B. DiRocco 
Morris James

John L. Riccolo Esq.
Riccolo Semelroth & Henningsen
Douglas S. Eakeley
Lowenstein Sandler

F. James Robinson Jr.
Hite Fanning & Honeyman
Bruce W. Felmly 
McLane Graf Raulerson & Middleton

Wm. T. "Bill" Robinson III
Frost Brown Todd
Thomas V. Flaherty
Flaherty Sensabaugh Bonasso

Benjamin C. Sasse
Tucker Ellis
Richards Ford 
Wicker Smith O’Hara McCoy & Ford

William Savitt
Wachtell Lipton Rosen & Katz*
George S. Frazza 
Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler

Lisa A. Schmidt
Richards Layton & Finger
Mark Garriga
Butler Snow

Eugene A. Schoon
Sidley Austin
Daniel J. Gerber
Rumberger Kirk & Caldwell

Susan C. Sears
Littler Mendelson
Richard C. Godfrey 
Kirkland & Ellis*

Scott S. Segal
The Segal Law Firm
Thomas A. Gottschalk 
Kirkland & Ellis*

Samuel W. Silver 
Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis
Maurice B. Graham 
Gray, Ritter & Graham

John M. Simpson 
Fulbright & Jaworski*
William H. Graham 
Connoll Foley (Retired)

Stuart H. Singer 
Boies Schiller & Flexner
Stuart M. Grant 
Grant & Eisenhofer

Michael W. Smith 
Christian and Barton*
Stanley M. Grossman

Louis M. Solomon
Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft
Robert L. Haig 
Kelley Drye & Warren

Jennifer L. Spaziano
Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom
Judy Simmons Henry 
Wright Lindsey & Jennings

Myron T. Steele
Potter Anderson & Corroon
Lawrence T. Hoyle 
Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis

David Sterling
Baker Botts
Lamont A. Jefferson 
Haynes & Boone

David S. Steuer 
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
Raoul Kennedy 
Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom

Kenneth M. Suggs
Janet Jenner & Suggs
Henry L. King 
Davis Polk & Wardwell*

Matthew Tharney
McCarter & English
Michael F. Kinney 
Cassem Tierney Adams Gotch & Douglas

Honorable E. Norman Veasey 
Weil Gotshal & Manges
James B. Kobak Jr.
Hughes Hubbard & Reed

Sylvia H. Walbolt 
Carlton Fields Jorden Burt
William M. Lafferty 
Morris Nichols Arsht & Tunnell

Bradish J. Waring 
Nexsen Pruet
David C. Landin 
Hunton & Williams*

Honorable Daniel E. Wathen 
Pierce Atwood
Mary Nold Larimore
Ice Miller

Honorable Peter D. Webster 
Carlton Fields Jorden Burt
James K. Leader 
Leader & Berkon

Jeffrey T. Wiley 
Dickie McCamey & Chilcote
Richard H. Levenstein
Kramer Sopko & Levenstein

W. Wayne Withers
Bryan Cave
L. Joseph Loveland Jr. 
King & Spalding*

Donald J. Wolfe Jr.
Potter Anderson & Corroon
Patricia E. Lowry
Squire Patton Boggs

Dan Worthington
Atlas Hall & Rodriguez