Warren E. Burger Society


The Warren E. Burger Society was formed upon the celebration of the twenty-fifth anniversary of the National Center for State Courts in 1996 to honor individuals who have volunteered their time, talent, and support to the National Center in an exceptional manner. Membership in the Society is granted to volunteers who have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to improving the administration of justice through extraordinary contributions of service or support to the National Center for State Courts. 

Society membership is commemorated by the presentation of a limited-edition print of the final portrait of the late Chief Justice Warren E. Burger, who helped found the National Center for State Courts in 1971. Each print is signed and numbered by artist Fran Di Giacomo. The portraits are a gift from Texas attorney Charles M. Noteboom, Esq., who commissioned the original portrait, which hangs in the National Center for State Courts’ headquarters in Williamsburg, Virginia. 

Members of the Warren E. Burger Society

Jan Aikman Dickson Elizabeth H. Goodner
Theodore B. Olson
R. Byron Attridge Thomas A. Gottschalk
Dwight D. Opperman*
Robert N. Baldwin John M. Greacen
Betty W. Osborne
Curtis H. Barnette Maurice R. Greenberg
Richard de J. Osborne
Dorothy T. Beasley Joe R. Greenhill
Louise M. Parent
Robert M. Bell Robert L. Haig
George T. Patton, Jr.
David Boies
Howell T. Heflin*
William G. Paul
Bobbe J. Bridge
Andrew D. Hendry
Robert S. Peck
Murray H. Bring
Jane A. Hess
Charles H. Pelton
John T. Broderick Jr.
Verne A. Hodge
Ellen Ash Peters
Thomas C. Brown Jr.
Linwood Holton
Thomas R. Phillips
Kim M. Brunner
R. William Ide III
John H. Pickering*
Michael L. Buenger
James R. James*
Lyle Reid
David K. Byers
Eileen Kato
William S. Richardson*
Elizabeth J. Cabraser
Nicholas de B. Katzenbach
Sally M. Rider
Sheila Calabro
John F. Kay Jr.
William L. Roberts Jr.
Alan Carlson
Judith S. Kaye
John H. Rockwell*
Harry L. Carrico
Susan and Ingo Keilitz
Kaliste J. Saloom Jr.
Winslow Christian*
Henry L. King
Karl J. Sandstrom
Michael V. Ciresi
Augustus B. Kinsolving
Charles R. Schader
Hugh M. Collins
Harry O. Lawson*
John G. Scriven
Michael A. Cooper
Jacqueline and Robert D.G. Lewis*
Randall T. Shepard
Theodore H. Curry II
L. Joseph Loveland Jr.
Dale Sipes*
John J. Curtin Jr.
Edward W. Madeira Jr.
Larry Sipes
Jude Del Preore
Mark D. Martin
Chesterfield Smith*
Paul J. DeMuniz
Charles W. Matthews Jr.
Arthur H. Snowden II
Kenneth T. Derr
Robert B. McCaw
Robert F. Stephens*
Sue K. Dosal
Edward B. McConnell
George A. Stinson*
Richard W. Duesenberg
Arthur A. McGiverin
Ronald J. Stupak
Haliburton Fales II*
Vincent L. McKusick
Stephen D. Susman
Theodore J. Fetter
Mary Campbell McQueen
Sandra Ann Thompson
Timothy E. Flanigan
Daniel J. Meador
Gerald W. VandeWalle
Edith Foster
E.L. Milonas
E. Norman Veasey
George S. Frazza
W.B. Mitchell*
William C. Vickrey
William H. Gates III
Thomas J. Moyer*
Sylvia H. Walbolt
Vernon M. Geddy Jr.*
Gayle A. Nachtigal
Roger K. Warren
Ronald M. George
William H. Neukom
W. Wayne Withers
James D. Gingerich
Charles M. Noteboom
Robert A. Zastany
Richard C. Godfrey
D. Dudley Oldham
Guy A. Zoghby*