2016 G.Thomas Munsterman Award for Jury Innovation

Munsterman award Info

People who viewed this page also viewed

No data available.

Ohio Jury Management Association

The Ohio Jury Management Association (OJMA) has been selected as the recipient of the National Center for State Courts’ (NCSC) 2016 G. Thomas Munsterman Award for Jury Innovation. The Munsterman Award recognizes states, local courts, organizations or individuals that have made significant improvements or innovations in jury procedures, operations and practices.

OJMA was established in 2000 as an outcome from an Ohio State Bar Foundation sponsored conference, to support the understanding and implementation of effective jury management practices in Ohio trial courts.  The overall mission of the organization is to promote and enhance jury service through excellent jury management. To fulfill its mission, OJMA has conducted an annual conference for 17 consecutive years; created and updated a Jury Management Manual; produced a jury orientation video; developed a Jury Notes newsletter; conducted a statewide survey of jury practices; created and maintains www.ohiojury.org; and produced a podcast. 

The organization collaborates with the Supreme Court of Ohio Judicial College to provide educational information on new or updated statues and rules, course sessions focused on jury management and technology, presentations on in-court improvements and information about other jury-related improvements or innovations.

M. Christy Tull, the director of the Supreme Court of Ohio Judicial College, supported the nomination of OJMA because it "improves jury management in Ohio and enhances public trust and confidence in the trial Courts."

OJMA currently has 119 members consisting of judges, court administrators, clerks, jury commissioners, jury managers, bailiffs, attorneys and others interested in jury management.