Program Overview - Court Management Program



See all courses




ICM courses educate court managers in the core competencies of court administration. Participants may choose from the Certified Court Manager (CCM) or Certified Court Executive (CCE) Programs.

Since 2011, those who obtain CCM and CCE certification are educated in all of the core competencies recognized by the National Association for Court Management. The NACM Core is a summation of the knowledge, skills, and abilities court professionals must have in order to be effective managers and dynamic leaders.

The courses constituting each certification program are listed below. Though courses may be taken in any order, all thirteen courses must be completed in order to earn the Certified Court Executive credential. The Certified Court Manager credential is awarded after completion of the six CCM courses. Please note that certification requirements may change in future years as ICM continually revises its curricula.

Certified Court Manager (CCM)

Current Course Title Original Course Title
Accountability & Court Performance Court Performance Standards: CourTools
Caseflow & Workflow Management Fundamental Issues of Caseflow Management
Budget & Fiscal Management Managing Court Financial Resources
Workforce Management Managing Human Resources
Project Management for Courts Managing Technology Projects & Technology Resources
No title change Purposes & Responsibilities of Courts

Certified Court Executive (CCE)

Current Course Title Original Course Title
Educational Development Education, Training & Development
Executive Decision Making New course
High Performance Court Framework Course is being phased out
Leadership No title change
Modern Court Governance New course
Operations Management Essential Components
Public Relations Court Community Communication
Visioning & Strategic Planning No title change

Certification candidates may take courses through National Programs, ICM partnerships, the CMP Licensee Program and/or the CMP Consortium. Participants may contact their state Administrative Office of the Courts to learn if their state is either part of the CMP Consortium or the CMP Licensee Program. All six of the CCM courses are also available in a distance learning environment. Those interested in the CCE program also have the option of completing certification requirements by attending the ICM Fellows Program Residential CCE Phase (application required) held annually in June at NCSC Headquarters.

It is ICM's policy that participants seeking program certification from ICM complete their course of study within a 7-year timeframe for each of the following two levels of certification -- Level One (CCM) and Level Two (CCE).