South Dakota State Court Resources

Search Options

InfoCenters > Special Jurisdiction > Probate Courts > Probate Courts

South Dakota does not have a separate probate court. The circuit court has original jurisdiction in all civil actions, except those concurrently shared with magistrate court. Circuit Court has seven presiding judges and 31 Circuit Court judges in seven circuits. 

Magistrate court has committing magistrates for all courts. There are ten full-time and four part-time magistrates in seven circuits, plus a clerk magistrate. 

For more information see the overview of South Dakota's Unified Judicial System.