Lawyers Committee


The Lawyers Committee of the National Center for State Courts provides an opportunity for the leaders of the nation’s preeminent law firms to partner with the NCSC in building public understanding of the need for a strong and independent judiciary. Members participate in dialogues with state chief justices and state court leaders on judicial reform issues, and provide valuable input on NCSC activities in a range of areas from jury reform to judicial independence.


Joining NCSC’s Lawyers Committee allows attorneys to be directly involved with the organization created to improve the state courts. It is a practical way to advance the cause of good government on a national level and satisfy one’s personal and professional responsibility as an officer of the court to strengthen the legal profession.

  • Connect with state chief justices on a wide range of topics.
  • Communicate with judicial leaders on current issues of most concern to you.
  • Access to NCSC’s experts and social scientists.
  • Network with other attorneys and general counsel.

To learn how your firm can become a member, please email Janet Reid or call her at (757) 259-1532.

Join or renew your membership today.

Leadership and Service

Chairs of the Lawyers Committee are selected from among the current membership for three year terms.  The committee is currently co-chaired by Elena R. Baca of Paul Hastings and Patrick Malone of Patrick Malone & Associates.  The Membership chair is Robert Maloney of Lane Powell.

The Committee meets annually in Washington, D.C. as part of a suite of events including the William H. Rehnquist Award Reception & Dinner at the U.S. Supreme Court.

Andrews Myers

Baker Botts

Barrett & Gilman

Beck Redden

Butler Snow

Campbell Conroy & O'Neil

Cassem Tierney Adams Gotch & Douglas

Center for Constitutional Litigation

Christensen Law

Christian & Barton

Ciresi Conlin

Colson Hicks Eidson

Comerford Chilson & Moser

Cravath Swaine & Moore

Dalton & Associates



Doffermyre Shields Canfield & Knowles

Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath

Gentry Locke Attorneys

Gibbs Law Group

Gibson Dunn & Crutcher

Goodwin Proctor

Gordon Tilden Thomas Cordell

Gray Ritter & Graham

Hansen McClintock & Riley

Hare Wynn Newell & Newton

Haynes and Boone

Hite Fanning & Honeyman

Holland & Knight

Hunton Andrews Kurth

Ice Miller

Johnson & Bell

Jones Walker

Kelley Drye & Warren

King & Spalding

Kirkland & Ellis

Koskoff Koskoff & Bieder

Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel

Lane Powell

Leader Berkon Colao & Silverstein

Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein

Lightfoot Franklin & White

Mandell Boisclair & Mandell


McLane Middleton

Meyers & Flowers

Michael Maguire & Associates

Miller Canfield Paddock & Stone

Mintz Levin Cohn Ferris Glovsky & Popeo

Munger Tolles & Olson

Nason Yeager Gerson Harris & Fumero

Nelson Mullins

Noteboom - The Law Firm

Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe

Osborn Maledon

Patrick Malone & Associates

Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler

Paul Hastings

Perkins Coie

Pierce Atwood

Potter Anderson & Corroon

Ramon Worthington

Reed Smith

Robinson & Cole

Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley

Shamberg Johnson & Bergman

Shook Hardy & Bacon

Sidley Austin

Smith LaCien

Spagenberg Shipley & Liber

Starn O'Toole Marcus & Fisher

Stoel Rives

Troutman Pepper


Wachtell Lipton Rosen & Katz

Walkup Melodia Kelly & Schoenberger

Wicker Smith

Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Womble Bond Dickson