Program Overview - Court Management Program



See all courses




The objective of the Court Management Program is to educate court managers in the core competencies of court administration. Participants may choose from the Certified Court Manager (CCM) or Certified Court Executive (CCE) Programs.

Since 2011, those who obtain CCM and CCE certification are educated in all of the core competencies recognized by the National Association for Court Management. The NACM model is a summation of the knowledge, skills, and abilities court professionals must have in order to be effective managers and dynamic leaders.

The courses constituting each certification program are listed below. Participants must achieve Certified Court Manager status prior to completing Certified Court Executive coursework. Please note that certification requirements may change in future years as ICM enhances its curricula.

Certified Court Manager (CCM)
Court Performance Standards: CourTools
Fundamental Issues of Caseflow Management
Managing Court Financial Resources
Managing Human Resources
Managing Technology Projects & Technology Resources
Purposes & Responsibilities of Courts

Certified Court Executive (CCE)
Court Community Communication
Education, Training & Development
Essential Components
High Performance Courts
Visioning & Strategic Planning

Certification candidates may take courses through National Programs, ICM partnerships, the CMP Licensee Program and/or the CMP Consortium. Participants may contact their state Administrative Office of the Courts to learn if their state is either part of the CMP Consortium or the CMP Licensee Program. All six of the CCM courses are also available in a distance learning environment. Those interested in the CCE program also have the option of completing certification requirements by attending the ICM Fellows Program Residential CCE Phase (application required) held annually in June at NCSC Headquarters.

It is ICM's policy that participants seeking program certification from ICM complete their course of study within a 7-year timeframe for each of the following two levels of certification -- CMP Level One CCM and CMP Level Two CCE.