Email newsletters

What interests you? Social media and the courts? Traffic legislation? State courts and the economy? We provide newsletters on various aspects of the court world. Check our newsletters out and subscribe.

Get the latest news on NCSC and the court community on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or LinkedIn. View NCSC highlights on Flickr or Vimeo.

Contact us

The Communications Office responds to media requests; provides publication and marketing support to NCSC divisions and court associations; and markets NCSC products and services.

Reporters should contact Director of Communications Lorri Montgomery at 757-259-1525.

Get NCSC news releases

If you're interested in receiving news releases from NCSC, send an e-mail to Director of Communications Lorri Montgomery with your name and e-mail address. Please include "Add Me to Release Mailing List" in the subject line.

Celebrating National Women's History Month

In March, the nation comes together to recognize the women whose commitment to government, politics and law have proved invaluable to society. Women’s History Month began in 1981 when Congress passed Pub. L. 97-28 which authorized and requested the President to proclaim the week beginning March 7, 1982 as “Women’s History Week."  Throughout the next five years, Congress continued to pass joint resolutions designating a week in March as "Women’s History Week." The Library of Congress, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, and the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration have posted a collection of documents and photos representing significant moments and women in U.S. history. View the collection at

NCSC has also provided several resources promoting the importance of gender equality and female juvenile justice.

NCSC in the news

Statewide survey says public is very satisfied with Michigan’s trial courts

A recently released survey by the Michigan Supreme Court revealed that court users are very satisfied with their experiences in Michigan’s trial courts. On questions ranging from fairness to timeliness, 26,000 people statewide were surveyed late last year as part of the court’s efforts to measure trial court performance and improve service to the public. The survey questions are modeled after the National Center for State Courts' survey template. The survey was made available to everyone leaving the courthouse during a five-day period, and courts were instructed to obtain a representative sample of persons served by the court. Completed surveys were mailed to SCAO where they were scanned, verified and analyzed. Read the full story in Advisor & Source Newspapers.

Courts, sheriff need upgrade in facilities

It’s a near-miracle Gila County has not suffered any serious incidents or outright tragedies in the cramped, cobbled-together county court and sheriff’s facilities in Payson say public safety officials. Presiding Superior Court Judge Peter Cahill, Payson Justice of the Peace Dorothy Little and Gila County Sheriff Adam Shepherd shared their concerns about their facilities and their hope that a planned expansion into the recently purchased NAPA building, west of the sheriff’s office on Main, might address the safety and crowding issues.
While Cahill admits to being skeptical about fitting both the Superior and Justice courts in the NAPA building, he is doing his part to give it the best chance at success. He used part of his budget to hire a consulting architect through the National Center for State Courts in Williamsburg, Va. Chang-Ming Yeh has visited Payson and seen both the existing facility and the proposed expansion. Read the full story in the Payson Roundup.


News releases

Colorado civics education program named recipient of Sandra Day O’Connor Award for Advancement of Civics Education

Judicially Speaking, a Colorado-based civics education program, has been named recipient of the 2015 Sandra Day O’Connor Award for the Advancement of Civics Education, presented annually by the National Center for State Courts (NCSC). The award honors an organization, court, or individual who has promoted, inspired, improved, or led an innovation or accomplishment in the field of civics education related to the justice system. Details of the awards presentation have not been finalized. Read the full press release.

New Mexico AOC Director named 2014 Warren E. Burger Award recipient

Arthur W. Pepin, Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts in New Mexico, has been named the 2014 recipient of the Warren E. Burger Award, one of the highest awards presented by the National Center for State Courts (NCSC). Named for the late Chief Justice of the United States, the Warren E. Burger award honors a state court system administrative official who demonstrates professional expertise, leadership, integrity, creativity, innovativeness, and sound judgment. Read the full press release.