About this project

National Center for State Courts Contact

Jesse Rutledge, Vice President, External Affairs

Senior Research Advisor

Joseph (Joe) A. Hamm, Ph.D., Michigan State University

Federal Liaison

Alan J. Tomkins, J.D., Ph.D., Acting Division Director, Division of Social and Economic Sciences, National Science Foundation

Academic Partners

Lisa M. PytlikZillig, Ph.D., University of Nebraska

Tarik Abdel-Monem, J.D., University of Nebraska

Pilot Teams

Franklin County, Ohio Municipal Court

Kansas City, Missouri Municipal Court

Administrative Office of the Massachusetts Trial Court

Nebraska Supreme Court Office of the State Court Administrator

Puerto Rico Judicial Branch

Texas Office of Court Administration

Community Engagement in the State Courts Initiative Advisory Board

Hon. Anna Blackburne-Rigsby, Chair *
Chief Judge, District of Columbia Court of Appeals

Hon. Ronald B. Adrine (Ret.)*
Administrative and Presiding Judge
Cleveland Municipal Court

Rev. Aundreia R. Alexander, Esq.*
Associate General Secretary for Action and Advocacy for Justice and Peace
National Council of Churches

Hon. Wiley Branton*
Judge, Sixth Judicial Circuit, Arkansas

Paulette Brown, Esq.*
Past President, American Bar Association
Partner, Locke Lord, LLP

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye
Chief Justice , Supreme Court of California

Hon. Edward C. Clifton (Ret.) *
Justice, Superior Court of Rhode Island

Hon. Jimmie M. Edwards
Judge, 22nd Circuit Court, Missouri (ret.)
Director, St. Louis Department of Public Safety

Jennifer Farmer*
Communications Director
PICO National Network

Ivan K. Fong
SVP, Legal Affairs and General Counsel
3M Company

Beatrice G. Garza*
Former President/CEO
Association for the Advancement of Mexican Americans

Dr. Lorretta Johnson
American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO

Honorable Jonathan Lippman (Ret.)
Chief Judge, New York State Unified Court System
Latham & Watkins, LLP

Honorable Eduardo PadrĂ³ (Ret.)*
Judge, New York Supreme Court
National Consortium on Racial and Ethnic Fairness in the Courts

Cheryl Teare*
Director, Union Leadership Institute
American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO

Hon. Eric T. Washington (Ret.)
Former Chief Judge, District of Columbia Court of Appeals

Jonathan Smith
Executive Director
Washington Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights and Urban Affairs

Jonathan D. Mattiello**
Executive Director
State Justice Institute

Mary McQueen**
National Center for State Courts

*Public Engagement Pilot Project Steering Committee Member
**Ex-Officio Member