Civics Education

Recognizing innovative civics education

image of Baylor winnerEach year, NCSC awards the  Sandra Day O’Connor Award for the Advancement of Civics Education. This award recognizes an organization, court, program or individual who has promoted, inspired, improved or led an innovation or accomplishment in the field of civics education related to the justice system. The 2022 recipient was the iEngage Summer Civics Institute at Baylor University.

iEngage Summer Civics Institute at Baylor University

Founded in 2013, the Baylor iEngage Summer Civics Institute is a free, five-day civics camp designed to help middle school students learn how to make a difference in their schools, neighborhoods and communities.

Baylor’s week-long iEngage camp teaches students about the structure of government, what it means to be an active and engaged citizen in their community and how they can work to make a change even as a young person.  Campers are assigned to small groups based on grade level and work together to research and strategize about how to address a local issue of concern. Baylor students studying education serve as the counselors for each of these small groups. Additional activities include a field trip to a legislative library to explore primary source artifacts, simulations of effective communication and deliberation hosted by the Baylor Law School, interfaces with local civic and political leaders and playing iCivics games. The Baylor iEngage program has reached more than 1,500 students, 40 teachers and 100 college students to date.

Pictured: Karon LeCompte, Ph.D., of the iEngage Summer Civics Institute at Baylor University, receives the 2022 Sandra Day O’Connor Award for the Advancement of Civics Education from Rhode Island Supreme Court Chief Justice Paul A. Suttell (left) and Texas Supreme Court Chief Justice Nathan Hecht (right).